Group Discussion with S.E. Hinton

Hello Everyone!! Hope you all are having a good Monday! Mine has consisted a lot of staring at the computer screen.
Now, last week I informed you all that I was invited to a group discussion with S.E. Hinton (author of The Outsiders.) I have been on the computer since 10:30 periodically checking for any response from her. Finally around 12 she started responding to questions. My question was kinda far down in the list, so she didn’t get to it till around 4:45. I am so very very happy she actually responded, I saw quite a few she simply skipped over.
So here is what I asked, “Hi S.E. Hinton!!!
I want to start off saying you are my favorite author. I absolutely love The Outsiders, I fell in love with each and everyone of the characters. They help me make tough decisions and I love sitting down with the book if I am having a rough day. I can’t even express how much the book has helped me and will help me in the future. I know a lot of people think my love of The Outsiders may just seem like a fangirl obsession, but it truly is more than that. I have learned something from each of the characters and I will carry that through life.
I just finished reading, That was Then, This is Now. I loved it, but at the same time I hated it. I do understand that Bryon was in an odd frame of mind when he called the cops on Mark, but I have a best friend, and I could never imagine doing something like that. I can’t help but think maybe he did the right thing though. So my first question is, maybe you could give me a little insight to how Bryon’s decision truly affected Mark. Would he have ended up in jail anyways, possibly because of something else?
Second question… All of your books have a true meaning to them, something that makes people think. So I was wondering how you come up with the inspiration for your books? And if you are writing anything else at the moment? I hope to be able to write something that really makes people think and feel, but I just haven’t had that type of inspiration yet.
Also, I read somewhere that you failed your first creative writing class. Not sure if that is true or not. But I recently auditioned for a school of the arts, my art being creative writing. I got in!! I am thrilled, but at the same time I’m afraid I’m going to get tired of writing, and it will seem like, just school work. I really hope that doesn’t happen. Do you have any advice for me when it comes to writing?
Sorry this was so long, but I just had so much to say. I hope you can reply.

Thank you!!!
Maddie D.

P.S. I heard you like the TV show Supernatural! That is my favorite show! Not many people have heard of it, which saddens me that they are missing out on such greatness, haha. Oh, and what is your opinion of Sam’s hair? I honestly liked it better in the first season.

This was S.E. Hinton’s response, “Alot of people throw That Was Then against the wall
when they finish it. Good, they got it! I don’t
start with a message in mind, years later people write me & tell me what the message was.
I like Sam’s hair on Supernatural. I think it suits him.- S.E. Hinton

Not quite the response I wanted, but I love it anyways! And I thank Mrs. Hinton for taking the time to respond to some of the many questions she received on this discussion.

Happy Reading!
Maddie

Leave a Reply

